Dedicated to individuals or groups who have been intimidated and/or persecuted for uncovering the truth and exposing it to the public, this year’s award is named in honour of the late Maltese journalist, Daphne Caruana Galizia.

Room LOW S 2.1 18h00 – 19h00, European Parliament, Strasbourg

18:00               Opening by Gabi ZIMMER, MEP & President of the GUE/NGL group


18.05               Presentation of the Jury and Announcement of the Award by

Stelios KOULOGLOU, MEP & the family of Daphne Caruana Galizia


Speech and video by the winner


Comments by Jury Members

Stephanie GIBAUD, Author, UBS Whistleblower

Gianna PAPADAKOU, Journalist, Alpha TV




The nominees are:

– Gjorgji Lazarevski and Zvonko Kostovski
Two intelligence officers whose revelations about wiretapping of over 20,000 political opponents by ex-FYROM PM Nikola Gruevski’s government led to the cabinet’s resignation.

– Ján Kuciak
Slovak investigative journalist who specialised in tax fraud amongst businessmen with links to top Slovak politicians, and whose murder in February toppled the Fico government.

– Julian Assange
Founder of WikiLeaks who has been holed up inside the Ecuadorian embassy in London since 2012 to avoid probable extradition to the US.

– Maria Efimova
Former Pilatus Bank employee-turned-whistleblower exposed corruption relating to the Azeri and Maltese leaderships. Currently in Greece but wanted by Cypriot and Maltese authorities.

– Raphaël Halet
Former PwC employee behind LuxLeaks alongside Antoine Deltour. He is still on trial for leaking documents that exposed multinationals’ tax evasion in Luxembourg.

There is also more about the award and the jury here