• corruption,
  • journalist,
  • press freedom,
  • whistleblower


The shortlist for the second annual GUE/NGL Award for ‘Journalists, Whistleblowers and Defenders of the Right to Information’ has been unveiled.

Dedicated to individuals or groups who have been intimidated and/or persecuted for uncovering the truth and exposing it to the public, this year’s award is once again named in honour of the late Maltese journalist, Daphne Caruana Galizia.

The nominees are:

– Julian Assange, founder of WikiLeaks

– Katya Mateva, whistleblower on Bulgarian Ministry of Justice’s Golden Visa scam                   

– Yasmine Motarjemi, former Vice President and whistleblower on Nestlé’s food safety lapses

– Rui Pinto, Football Leaks whistleblower facing extradition from Hungary to Portugal                           

– Luis Gonzalo Segura, author and whistleblower on corruption and wrongdoing in the Spanish army

– Howard Wilkinson, Danske Bank whistleblower

Commenting on the award, Daphne Caruana Galizia’s son, Matthew, says:

“As corruption and crime continue to erode freedom and undermine security, our societies increasingly fall back on individuals who take personal risks to raise the alarm on wrongdoing.”

“Whistleblowers need protection and deserve recognition.”

The winner(s) will be announced at the European Parliament in Strasbourg on Tuesday 16th April 2019.

He/she will also receive 5000 euros for their work.

You can find out more about the award and the jury here.


Related Meps

Democracy & Ethics & European Union & Migration & Peace & Solidarity & Rights & liberties ·

Europe's War on Refugees

Democracy & Ethics & European Union & International solidarity & Peace & Solidarity & Rights & liberties ·

Europe must recognise Palestinian statehood

Equality & Rights & liberties & Rights and liberties & Social Justice ·

From the streets to the institutions - the unwavering battle for LGBTIQ+ justice