Aubry & Schirdewan to lead Left’s challenge to EU policy

João Ferreira, Marisa Matias, Sira Rego and Nikolaj Villumsen to be vice-presidents

Manon Aubry (France Insoumise, France) and Martin Schirdewan (DIE LINKE, Germany) are the new co-presidents of the GUE/NGL group in the European Parliament.

Schirdewan, an MEP since 2017 and working as acting president since May’s European elections, is confirmed in the leadership role. Aubry, a former spokesperson for Oxfam, becomes the youngest person ever to lead a political group in the European Parliament.

“The GUE/NGL will be the voice of European peoples against neoliberal policies: we will fight for climate, tax and social justice in the European Parliament and support social movements all across Europe,” Aubry said.

Schirdewan added: “I look forward to working with a strong team for a more social, more just, peaceful and environmentally sustainable EU. The group is well set-up to be the only group to engage in a constructive and determined left-wing opposition over the next few years.”

Together, they will lead the Left’s challenge to prevailing EU policy and a European Commission headed by Ursula von der Leyen.

João Ferreira (PCP, Portugal), Marisa Matias (Bloco de Esquerda, Portugal), Sira Rego (Izquierda Unida, Spain) and Nikolaj Villumsen (Enhedslisten, Denmark) will serve as vice-presidents.

On behalf of millions of citizens, this new leadership will fight against austerity and the far right for a Europe that stands for workers’ rights, feminism, tackling the climate crisis, human rights, and peace.

Related Meps

Nikolaj Villumsen


Manon Aubry

La France Insoumise

João Pimenta Lopes

Partido Comunista Português

Anabela Rodrigues

Bloco de Esquerda